home *** CD-ROM | disk | FTP | other *** search
/ ftp.pasteur.org/FAQ/ / ftp-pasteur-org-FAQ.zip / FAQ / games / magic-t-g / rules / part2 < prev    next >
Encoding:
Internet Message Format  |  2004-05-17  |  22.1 KB

  1. Path: senator-bedfellow.mit.edu!dreaderd!not-for-mail
  2. Message-ID: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part2_1084697642@rtfm.mit.edu>
  3. Supersedes: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part2_1084181713@rtfm.mit.edu>
  4. Expires: 4 Jun 2004 08:54:02 GMT
  5. References: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part1_1084697642@rtfm.mit.edu>
  6. X-Last-Updated: 2004/02/23
  7. Followup-To: poster
  8. Organization: none
  9. From: pls@claymore.nu (Patrik Linell)
  10. Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules,rec.answers,news.answers
  11. Subject: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v3.06 (main A-H)
  12. Keywords: magic the gathering rules faq
  13. Approved: news-answers-request@MIT.EDU
  14. Last-modified: 23rd February 2004
  15. Version: 3.08
  16. Summary: FAQs about rules of the game "Magic: The Gathering(R)".
  17. URL: http://www.claymore.nu/mtgrules
  18. Originator: faqserv@penguin-lust.MIT.EDU
  19. Date: 16 May 2004 08:55:39 GMT
  20. Lines: 435
  21. NNTP-Posting-Host: penguin-lust.mit.edu
  22. X-Trace: 1084697739 senator-bedfellow.mit.edu 576 18.181.0.29
  23. Xref: senator-bedfellow.mit.edu rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules:242840 rec.answers:87016 news.answers:271312
  24.  
  25. Archive-name: games/magic-t-g/rules/part2
  26. Posting-Frequency: About every 5 days
  27. URL: http://www.claymore.nu/mtgrules
  28.  
  29. Section A: Terminology
  30.  
  31. A.01 Q: What does bury mean?
  32.       A: "Bury X" is an old term for "Destroy X. It can't be regenerated". 
  33. The term was discontinued when Tempest came out.
  34.  
  35. A.02 Q: What is a mana source?
  36.       A: Something that doesn't exist anymore. During Fifth Edition rules, 
  37. mana sources were spells that were "faster" than instants and interrupts 
  38. (see A.03). These days, all spells that were mana sources are instants and 
  39. played as such.
  40.  
  41. A.03 Q: What is an interrupt?
  42.       A: Again, something that doesn't exist anymore. Interrupts used to be 
  43. spells that were "faster" than instants. These days, all spells that were 
  44. interrupts are instants and played as such.
  45.  
  46. A.04 Q: What is "summoning sickness"?
  47.       A: The affliction that makes creatures unable to attack and tap for 
  48. abilities during the turn in which they come into play (and the following 
  49. opponent's turn). The term was only officially used for 5th Edition rules, 
  50. but earlier editions did mention it. This condition has no name now, so 
  51. most people still use summoning sickness, although it's technically 
  52. incorrect. Creatures that used to be "unaffected by summoning sickness" now 
  53. have "haste" instead. It works the same.
  54.  
  55. A.05 Q: What does "mana" and "mana pool" mean? Is it my lands?
  56.       A: No. Repeat after me: Mana is not the same thing as lands. This is 
  57. the biggest difference between Starter and grown-up Magic, and has proved 
  58. to be one that causes the most confusion. In Starter, lands are simply 
  59. tapped to pay for spells. In Magic, however, lands are tapped to add mana 
  60. to the player's mana pool. It usually stays there for a moment. After that, 
  61. the mana is taken from that pool to pay for spells or other mana costs. 
  62. Also, lands do not necessarily produce mana (though most do) and many of 
  63. them do other things as well.
  64.    Basically, your mana pool can be thought of as a bowl containing your 
  65. money. The points of mana (coins) in the pool aren't represented by 
  66. anything physical, because there's not usually many of them, and they 
  67. aren't around for very long.
  68.    So, as an example, Dark Ritual is an instant spell that adds BBB (that's 
  69. 3 black mana) to your pool when it resolves, just as if you'd tapped 3 
  70. swamps. Afterwards, you can take that mana out of your pool and use it to 
  71. cast black spells.
  72.  
  73. A.06 Q: What's a "permanent"?
  74.       A: A permanent is a card or token that's in play, and only one that's 
  75. in play. Cards in play are permanents, cards outside of play are not. Note 
  76. that instants and sorceries are never permanents, and neither are cards in 
  77. your hand, graveyard or library.
  78.  
  79. A.07 Q: What's the difference between a "creature" and a "creature card"?
  80.       A: A "creature" is a term reserved for a permanent. In other words, 
  81. the only way something can be a "creature" is for it to be in play. 
  82. Anywhere else, the thing is just a "creature card" (or "creature spell", if 
  83. it's on the stack). The same applies to the terms "land", "artifact" and 
  84. "enchantment" too.
  85.    So Unsummon, which says "Return target creature to its owner's hand", 
  86. can't be used to retrieve creature cards from your graveyard, because 
  87. they're not creatures.
  88.  
  89. A.08 Q: What's the difference between a "Creature - X" card and a "Summon 
  90. X" card?
  91.       A: Age. Prior to Sixth Edition, creature cards read "Summon X". 
  92. Since, they've read Creature - X. The difference during play is nonexistent.
  93.  
  94. A.09 Q: What's a "spell"?
  95.       A: A spell is a card on the stack, and only one on the stack. In 
  96. other words, a card becomes a spell as you cast it, and stops being one 
  97. when it resolves. Note that when playing a land, it doesn't go onto the 
  98. stack; lands can't ever become spells.
  99.  
  100. A.10 Q: What's a "pseudospell"?
  101.       A: It's a marker on the stack to represent an ability. When a spell 
  102. is played, the spell card itself gets put onto the stack. However, when an 
  103. ability of a permanent is played there isn't an appropriate card handy- so 
  104. what gets put on the stack instead is a pseudospell, as a marker.
  105.  
  106. A.11 Q: What does "resolve" mean?
  107.       A: Spells, and most abilities, cannot take effect as soon as they are 
  108. announced; there's time for other players to use abilities and instant 
  109. spells in response to them. Only after everyone's finished responding can 
  110. your spell actually resolve, ie have its effect.
  111.  
  112. A.12 Q: What do "respond" and "in response" mean?
  113.       A: Because a spell or ability cannot resolve as soon as it is cast, 
  114. there is a time when abilities and instant spells can be cast "in response" 
  115. to it. In other words, they are announced and put onto the stack above it. 
  116. Things done in response to a spell or ability will resolve first. The 
  117. spells most commonly cast in response to something are those that will 
  118. counter it, for example a Counterspell.
  119.  
  120. A.13 Q: What does "counter" mean?
  121.       A: To "counter" a spell is to cause it to go to the graveyard without 
  122. it having its effect. "Counter" as a noun, as in "put two +1/+1 counters on 
  123. target creature" are physical markers placed on a card. A +1/+1 counter is 
  124. put on a creature and gives that creature +1/+1.
  125.  
  126. A.14 Q: What does "countered on resolution" mean?
  127.       A: It's what happens to a spell that tries to resolve and cannot for 
  128. some reason. Usually, this is because a target has gone illegal between 
  129. announcement and resolution. The old term for this is "fizzle", but it is 
  130. no longer in use. Also note that "countered upon resolution" does mean 
  131. countering, and Multani's Presence will trigger off it.
  132.  
  133. A.15 Q: Who is the "controller" of a card?
  134.       A: The controller of the card is the player who can use its 
  135. abilities, attack with it, and so on. If a card says "you", it's always 
  136. talking to its controller. Which player is it? That depends. Usually, the 
  137. controller and the owner (see below) of a card are the same player, but 
  138. there are many effects that can change that. Generally speaking, if you put 
  139. a card into play, and no effects apply that could change its controller, 
  140. then you control that card.
  141.  
  142. A.16 Q: Who is the "owner" of a card?
  143.       A: The 'owner' of a card is the player who brought it to the game, 
  144. and who started the game with it in his library. The 'owner' of a token is 
  145. the player who controlled the spell or ability that created it. (e.g.: 
  146. Waiting in the Weeds is a spell that creates Cat tokens under the control 
  147. of various players... but the caster of Waiting in the Weeds owns them all.)
  148.  
  149. A.17 Q: Who is the "active player"?
  150.       A: The player whose turn it is. Usually if both players can do 
  151. something, the active player gets to do so first... including making 
  152. choices (which means that when the opponent chooses, he knows what choice 
  153. was made) and putting triggered abilities onto the stack (which means the 
  154. opponent's abilities will resolve first).
  155.  
  156. A.18 Q: What is a "modal" spell?
  157.       A: A "modal" spell is, in general terms, one which can do more than 
  158. one thing. All modal spells, under the current wordings, have to say 
  159. "Choose one-", followed by a list of possible effects. The Dragon Charms 
  160. from Planeshift are the most well-known current examples. Note that 
  161. Disenchant is not a modal spell, because it doesn't say "Choose one- 
  162. destroy target artifact, or destroy target enchantment".
  163.    The distinction is important, because when you announce a modal spell, 
  164. you choose what mode it'll use right then, instead of waiting until it 
  165. resolves. Disenchant targeting an enchantment that becomes an artifact 
  166. before Disenchant's resolution will still destroy its target, which it 
  167. would not if it were modal.
  168.  
  169. A.19 Q: What's "the stack"? What is "priority"?
  170.       A: The Stack is a timing system. It's a zone of play, like your 
  171. graveyard or your library. When a spell is announced, it cannot take its 
  172. effect straight away. Instead, it's put on top of the stack, and other 
  173. players are given the opportunity to respond to it with their own spells. 
  174. The responses will resolve first, and when people have finished responding, 
  175. eventually the original spell will resolve. (Note that this also applies to 
  176. abilities.) The player who "has priority" at any particular time is the one 
  177. who's currently allowed to add things to the stack. Here's a brief 
  178. flowchart showing how the system works.
  179.    In each step of the turn, the active player has priority to begin with.
  180.  
  181.    I: The player who has priority may announce a spell: he puts the spell 
  182. onto the stack, chooses its mode and its targets, and pays its costs. If he 
  183. chooses to do so, then he gets priority again- repeat this step. Otherwise, 
  184. he "passes priority" to his opponent- go to [II].
  185.  
  186.    II: Now, that player's opponent has priority, so he can play his own 
  187. spells on the top of the stack. If he chooses to do so, then he'll be the 
  188. one who priority again- we return to [I]. Otherwise, we go on to [III].
  189.  
  190.    III: The players have both passed, so they've both declared that they're 
  191. not going to respond to the current spell. If the stack is empty, then the 
  192. current step of this turn will end. Otherwise, the top item of the stack 
  193. resolves and is removed (in the case of an Instant or Sorcery it will go to 
  194. the graveyard. Other types of spell will go into play, and pseudospells 
  195. from abilities will be removed from the game). After that, the active 
  196. player gets priority again. We return to I.
  197.  
  198. A.20 Q: What does "play" mean?
  199.       A: Three things, in general. To "play" a land means putting it into 
  200. play. To "play" a spell or ability means announcing it, choosing targets 
  201. and so on. "In play" is the zone where all the action happens, where the 
  202. permanents are, creatures attack and so on (other zones are for example 
  203. graveyard and library).
  204.    An ability that triggers when a spell is "played" will do so as soon as 
  205. that spell is announced, and its effect will occur before the triggering 
  206. spell can resolve. Abilities that used to refer to something being 
  207. "successfully cast", which has no meaning under 6th Edition rules, have all 
  208. had errata to use the term "played".
  209.  
  210. A.21 Q: What's the difference between "playing" and "putting into play"?
  211.       A: To "play" a spell or ability means to announce it, as I said 
  212. above. In other words, you pay its costs, choose its targets, and put it 
  213. onto the stack. To "put a card into play" means to put it into the "in 
  214. play" zone.
  215.    This means that it's possible to "play" an Instant or Sorcery spell, but 
  216. not possible to "put it into play". A spell or ability that tells you to 
  217. "put a creature into play", such as Dragon Arch, is not telling you to 
  218. "play" it.
  219.  
  220. A.22 Q: What is the "converted mana cost" of a card?
  221.       A: The total amount of mana in its mana cost, printed in the top 
  222. right corner of the card. For example, Devouring Strossus (cost 5BBB) has a 
  223. converted mana cost of 8. Even if the Strossus-toting player has a couple 
  224. of Thunderscape Familiars out, the converted mana cost is still 8; it never 
  225. changes. You only have to pay 3BBB to play Devouring Strossus with two 
  226. Thunderscape Familiars out, but Monkey Cage will still produce 8 Apes when 
  227. it comes into play.
  228.  
  229. A.23 Q: What's Mana Burn?
  230.       A: It's what happens if you add mana to your pool but don't use it 
  231. before the end of the phase. The mana disappears, and you lose 1 life for 
  232. each point of mana that disappears in this way. It doesn't happen very 
  233. often, but sometimes you really need to play something costing BB with only 
  234. one Swamp and a Dark Ritual, meaning you have one black mana left over.
  235.  
  236. ==========
  237.  
  238. Section B: Color
  239.  
  240. B.01 Q: Can I play Agonizing Demise (Destroy target nonblack creature) on a 
  241. red and black creature?
  242.       A: No. A creature that is black isn't nonblack. If it has any other 
  243. colors as well is irrelevant.
  244.  
  245. B.02 Q: Can I use a Circle of Protection: Black (1: The next time a black 
  246. source of your choice would deal damage to you this turn, prevent that 
  247. damage) to prevent damage from a red and black creature?
  248.       A: Yes. The creature is black; that it also has another color is 
  249. irrelevant.
  250.  
  251. B.03 Q: Can I choose 'gold', 'artifact', or 'colorless' when asked to 
  252. choose a color?
  253.       A: No. Magic has exactly five colors in it: White, green, blue, red 
  254. and black. They are the only ones that can be chosen when you're asked to 
  255. choose a color.
  256.  
  257. B:04 Q: Do basic lands have colors? (e.g. are swamps black?)
  258.       A: No. Lands are colorless unless something gives them a color.
  259.  
  260. B.05 Q: Does a Coastal Tower (that can produce both white and blue mana) 
  261. count as both a plains and an island?
  262.       A: No, because it doesn't say it does. Unless the land itself says it 
  263. counts as a basic land type, it doesn't. Basic lands do; it comes with 
  264. being a basic land.
  265.  
  266. ========
  267.  
  268. Section C: Creatures
  269.  
  270. C.01 Q: If I play a Chimeric Idol, and then activate it so it becomes a 
  271. creature, can it then attack this turn?
  272.       A: No. All permanents have "summoning sickness", but only creatures 
  273. are affected by it. When Chimeric Idol becomes a creature, it still has 
  274. summoning sickness, and since it is now a creature, it cannot attack.
  275.  
  276. C.02 Q: When something asks me to choose a creature type, can I choose 
  277. "blue" or "artifact" or "Recidivist"?
  278.       A: No. When choosing a creature type, you must choose an existing 
  279. creature type. "Elf works", "Pixie-Queen" works, "Myr" works, "Blinkmoth" 
  280. works (tokens count as existing creature types), but neither "blue", 
  281. "artifact" or "Recidivist" work.
  282.  
  283. ======
  284.  
  285. Section D: Combat
  286.  
  287. D.01 Q: What is the overall structure of the combat phase?
  288.       A: The Combat Phase is divided into 5 steps. Note that there is only 
  289. ever _one_ combat phase in a turn. You can't "attack with this thing, see 
  290. what happens to it, then attack with this other thing" or whatever. All 
  291. attackers attack simultaneously, and all blockers block simultaneously, and 
  292. then damage is dealt, and then combat finishes.
  293.  
  294. 1: Beginning of Combat:
  295.    Instants can be played. This is the last chance for the defending player 
  296. to tap creatures in order to prevent them from attacking.
  297.  
  298. 2: Declare Attackers:
  299.    The active player declares which creatures are attacking, then taps them 
  300. and pays any other costs for them to attack. Then Instants can be played. 
  301. This is the last chance for the attacking player to tap or destroy 
  302. creatures in order to prevent them from blocking.
  303.  
  304. 3: Declare Blockers
  305.    The defending player declares which creatures are blocking which. Then 
  306. Instants can be played. This is the last time when changing a creature's 
  307. power, or destroying a creature, will change the amount of damage it can deal.
  308.  
  309. 4: Combat Damage
  310.    Combat Damage from surviving creatures is assigned to the creatures 
  311. they're fighting, in whatever pattern their controllers want. Then Instants 
  312. can be played. This is a good time to play damage-prevention or redirection 
  313. abilities, and it's the last chance to increase a creature's toughness in 
  314. order to let it survive.
  315.    Then the damage will resolve, and lethally damaged creatures will die, 
  316. and players on 0 life will lose the game. Then Instants can be played 
  317. again. At this point it's too late to do anything very useful, except 
  318. killing creatures in order to prevent their "at end of combat" abilities 
  319. from happening.
  320.  
  321.    Note that if creatures with First Strike are involved, the Combat Damage 
  322. step will actually happen twice- in the first one, only creatures with 
  323. first strike will deal damage. In the second one, only the creatures that 
  324. haven't already dealt their damage will do so.
  325.  
  326. 5: End of Combat
  327.    Abilities that trigger "at end of combat" will do so, and go onto the 
  328. stack. Then Instants can be played.
  329.  
  330. D.02 Q: Can I play Terminate (destroy target creature) on an attacker to 
  331. stop its combat damage being dealt?
  332.       A: Yes. You simply play Terminate before combat damage goes on the stack.
  333.  
  334. D.03 Q: Will a blocking creature still deal combat damage if it gets tapped?
  335.       A: Yes, the rule saying otherwise was taken out in Sixth Edition.
  336.  
  337. D.04 Q: Can a Giant Spider (may block as though it had flying) block 
  338. Treetop Rangers (can't be blocked except by creatures with flying)?
  339.       A: Yes. Basically, the controller of Giant Spider chooses whether to 
  340. have it block as a flier or as a non-flier this turn.
  341.  
  342. ======
  343.  
  344. Section E: Protection
  345.  
  346. E.01 Q: What does protection from Foo protect against?
  347.       A: Exactly four things, namely the following:
  348.  
  349.    Cannot be D amaged by Foo sources.
  350.    Cannot be E nchanted by Foo enchantments or E quipped by Foo Equipment.
  351.    Cannot be B locked by Foo creatures.
  352.    Cannot be T argeted by Foo spells and abilities.
  353.  
  354. Mnemonic DEBT.
  355.  
  356. E.02 Q: Will a Black Knight (Protection from white) be destroyed by a Wrath 
  357. of God (destroy all creatures).
  358.       A: Yes, it will. Wrath of God does not damage, enchant, block or 
  359. target the creature, and so protection doesn't help.
  360.  
  361. ======
  362.  
  363. Section F: Trample
  364.  
  365. F.01 Q: How does trample work?
  366.       A: Basically, if an attacking creature with trample manages to kill 
  367. all of its blockers with damage "left over", the excess damage is dealt to 
  368. the defending player.
  369.    A creature with trample must assign lethal damage to all of its blockers 
  370. before it gets to assign any to the defending player, and it may assign 
  371. more if it wants to. For example, if a 7/7 with trample is blocked by a 
  372. 2/2, the trampler must assign at least 2 damage to the blocker and can then 
  373. assign 5 damage to the defending player. The same creature blocked by a 1/1 
  374. and a 3/3 must assign 1 damage to the 1/1 and 3 damage to the 3/3 and can 
  375. then assign 3 to the defending player.
  376.  
  377. F.02 Q: How does trample work against protection?
  378.       A: Trample doesn't care about what's going to happen to the damage 
  379. after it's assigned; it will assign enough damage to be lethal anyway. A 
  380. green 7/7 trampler, blocked by a 2/2 with protection from green, will still 
  381. have to assign 2 damage to the blocker; the rest can be assigned to the 
  382. defending player. This won't kill the blocker due to the protection, but 
  383. that doesn't matter.
  384.  
  385. ======
  386.  
  387. Section G: Other one-word Abilities
  388.  
  389. G.01 Q: What does Phasing mean?
  390.       A: Phasing is a 'disadvantage' ability, which essentially means you 
  391. only have your creature (or whatever it is that has the ability) on 
  392. alternate turns.
  393.    At the start of your turn, just before everything untaps, all your stuff 
  394. with Phasing phases out. (note that your opponent's stuff stays where it 
  395. is- it's just the active player who does this.)
  396.    Most players turn their cards face down to show they're phased out. 
  397. While something is phased out, it's essentially out of the game- it can't 
  398. be targetted, can't attack, can't use its abilites and so on.
  399.  
  400.    At the same time, all your stuff that's already phased out phases back 
  401. in. They'll still have all the counters and enchantments that were on them 
  402. when they phased out, and so on. Creatures that phase in have Haste until 
  403. their controller's next turn begins.
  404.  
  405.    So, for example- You play a Breezekeeper, a 4/4 phasing creature. You 
  406. can't attack with it this turn because it just came into play. It can block 
  407. in your opponent's turn.
  408. On your next turn, it phases out. So you can't attack with it this turn. It 
  409. can't block on your opponent's turn.
  410. On your turn after that, it phases back in, so you can finally attack with 
  411. it, or block on your opponent's turn.
  412. On your turn after that, it phases back out... you get the picture?
  413.  
  414. Phasing details:
  415.    If a creature phases out tapped, it will phase back in tapped. Since 
  416. this normally happens at the start of the turn, just before you untap 
  417. everything anyway, it doesn't usually matter.
  418.    When a creature phases out, abilities that trigger "when ~ leaves play" 
  419. will do so. When it phases in, abilities that trigger "when ~ comes into 
  420. play" will _not_ do so. Other than reasons of game balance- this would be 
  421. too powerful with Bone Shredders, for example- there's no real explanation 
  422. for this behaviour. Just stick Vanishing on your Thalakos Seer and enjoy it.
  423.  
  424. G.02 Q: When a creature dies, can I regenerate it later on in the turn?
  425.       A: No. Regeneration prevents a creature from being destroyed, 
  426. replacing the destruction event with another. It cannot bring the creature 
  427. back from death in any way.
  428.  
  429. G.03 Q: What can I regenerate from?
  430.       A: Destruction, ie lethal damage and spells/abilities that say they 
  431. destroy. That's all.
  432.  
  433. G.04 Q: Can I regenerate from a Sacrifice?
  434.       A: No. It doesn't say "destroy".
  435.  
  436. Section H: Costs
  437.  
  438. H.01 Q: What's the difference between a cost and an effect?
  439.       A: Costs happen immediately, effects go on the stack. If you 
  440. sacrifice a creature to pay for Fallen Angel's ability, your opponent 
  441. cannot destroy that creature in response, since costs don't use the stack.
  442.  
  443. H.02 Q: How do I tell whether something is a cost or an effect?
  444.       A: In general, the mana cost in the top right hand corner of a spell 
  445. is its cost, and the text in the text-box of the spell is its effect. In 
  446. the case of an activated ability, the text before the colon is its cost, 
  447. and the text after it is its effect.
  448.  
  449. H.03 Q: If a spell is countered, do you still have to pay its cost?
  450.       A: Yes. By the time it can be countered it's been announced, had its 
  451. targets and mode chosen, and had its cost paid. You've lost the mana for good.
  452.  
  453. H.04 Q: Can additional costs, such as kicker costs, be reduced by Familiars?
  454.       A: Yes. When calculating what you have to pay to cover the cost of a 
  455. spell, you first take the mana cost (printed on the card), then add 
  456. increasers (kicker costs, Gloom) and then apply reducers (Familiars, 
  457. Medallions).
  458.  
  459.  
  460.