home *** CD-ROM | disk | FTP | other *** search
/ ftp.pasteur.org/FAQ/ / ftp-pasteur-org-FAQ.zip / FAQ / games / magic-t-g / rules / part3 < prev    next >
Encoding:
Internet Message Format  |  2004-05-17  |  11.1 KB

  1. Path: senator-bedfellow.mit.edu!dreaderd!not-for-mail
  2. Message-ID: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part3_1084697642@rtfm.mit.edu>
  3. Supersedes: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part3_1084181713@rtfm.mit.edu>
  4. Expires: 4 Jun 2004 08:54:02 GMT
  5. References: <games/magic-t-g/rules/part1_1084697642@rtfm.mit.edu>
  6. X-Last-Updated: 2004/02/23
  7. Followup-To: poster
  8. Organization: none
  9. From: pls@claymore.nu (Patrik Linell)
  10. Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules,rec.answers,news.answers
  11. Subject: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v3.06 (main J-Z)
  12. Keywords: magic the gathering rules faq
  13. Approved: news-answers-request@MIT.EDU
  14. Last-modified: 23rd February 2004
  15. Version: 3.08
  16. Summary: FAQs about rules of the game "Magic: The Gathering(R)".
  17. URL: http://www.claymore.nu/mtgrules
  18. Originator: faqserv@penguin-lust.MIT.EDU
  19. Date: 16 May 2004 08:55:40 GMT
  20. Lines: 229
  21. NNTP-Posting-Host: penguin-lust.mit.edu
  22. X-Trace: 1084697740 senator-bedfellow.mit.edu 576 18.181.0.29
  23. Xref: senator-bedfellow.mit.edu rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules:242841 rec.answers:87017 news.answers:271313
  24.  
  25. Archive-name: games/magic-t-g/rules/part3
  26. Posting-Frequency: About every 5 days
  27. URL: http://www.claymore.nu/mtgrules
  28.  
  29. ======
  30.  
  31. Section J: Abilities in general
  32.  
  33. J.01 Q: If I kill a creature in response to it using its ability, does the 
  34. ability still take effect?
  35.       A: Yes. The Silver Rule of Magic states that an ability, once played, 
  36. exists independently of its source. If a Prodigal Sorcerer taps to deal 1 
  37. damage, it doesn't help to kill the Prodigal Sorcerer in response; the 
  38. ability will resolve.
  39.  
  40. J.02 Q: Can I Counterspell a permanent's ability?
  41.       A: No. Counterspell can only counter spells, not abilities. To 
  42. counter an ability, you need a Bind.
  43.  
  44. J.03 Q: If something is tapped, can it still use abilities that don't 
  45. require it to tap?
  46.       A: Yes. For example, Hate Weaver reads "2: Target blue or red 
  47. creature gets +1/+0 until end of turn". Since this ability does not require 
  48. tapping, it can be used while Hate Weaver is tapped.
  49.  
  50. J.04 Q: Can use an ability multiple times, e.g. use Pestilence several 
  51. times in a row?
  52.       A: Yes. Unless the ability itself has a restriction, you can play it 
  53. as many times as you can pay the cost.
  54.  
  55. J.05 Q: Do the abilities of artifacts work while they're tapped?
  56.       A: Yes, these days they do, apart from the few that got errata to 
  57. state that they "shut off" when tapped. These artifacts are Howling Mine, 
  58. Static Orb and Winter Orb.
  59.  
  60. ======
  61.  
  62. Section K: Timing
  63.  
  64. K.01 Q: What happens first, if two things say they happen "when" or 
  65. "whenever" an event occurs? Can I cast instants in-between them?
  66.       A: Since such abilities are triggered abilities, it depends on who 
  67. controls them. If the same player controls them, he or she decides the 
  68. order in which they go on the stack and, by extension, the order in which 
  69. they resolve. If different players control them, the ones controlled by the 
  70. active player go on the stack first, followed by the ones controlled by the 
  71. inactive player, meaning that the ones controlled by the inactive player 
  72. will resolve first.
  73.  
  74. K.02 Q: Both players want to cast Shock, and both are on 2 life. Who dies?
  75.       A: The player who cracks first, generally speaking. When he announces 
  76. his Shock, his opponent can respond to it with her own Shock. Things 
  77. resolve in Last In First Out (LIFO) order, so the responding Shock will 
  78. resolve first. If each player knows that the other has a Shock, this 
  79. situation is a stalemate until one player draws another Shock.
  80.  
  81. K.03 Q: If events in the end of turn step cause something to happen "at end 
  82. of turn", when will that actually be?
  83.       A: At the end of the next turn. "At end of turn" means "at the 
  84. beginning of the end of turn step", which has already happened this turn. 
  85. Therefore the effect will wait until the next end of turn step that comes 
  86. around. Don't confuse this with...
  87.  
  88. K.04 Q: If events in the end of turn step start an effect that lasts "until 
  89. end of turn", when will that actually wear off?
  90.       A: During that same turn. "Until end of turn" effects wear off during 
  91. the cleanup step, which will be repeated if anything unusual happens. In 
  92. other words, it's not possible to get an "until end of turn" effect to last 
  93. until the following turn.
  94.  
  95. ======
  96.  
  97. Section L
  98.  
  99. L.01 Q: Where's section L?
  100.       A: There is no section L. Move along. These aren't the droids you're 
  101. looking for.
  102.  
  103. ======
  104.  
  105. Section M: Targeting and enchanting
  106.  
  107. M.01 Q: How do you know if a spell or ability targets?
  108.       A: It targets if it a) says it targets or b) is a local enchantment 
  109. spell. Nothing else targets. Ever.
  110.  
  111. M.02 Q: If Agonizing Demise's (destroy target nonblack creature) target 
  112. becomes black before it resolves, will it still destroy it?
  113.       A: No. Target legality is checked twice, once on announcement and 
  114. once on resolution. If one of a spell's or ability's targets is illegal on 
  115. resolution, nothing is done to that target; if all of a spell's or 
  116. ability's targets are illegal on resolution, the spell or ability is countered.
  117.  
  118. M.03 Q: Can I cast Reckless Spite (destroy two target nonblack creatures) 
  119. targetting only one creature, or the same creature twice?
  120.       A: No, you have to target a separate creature for each target, and 
  121. have to have enough legal targets; otherwise you're not allowed to play the 
  122. spell.
  123.  
  124. M.05 Q: How well does Blurred Mongoose's (Blurred Mongoose can't be the 
  125. target of spells or abilities) ability protect it?
  126.       A: It cannot be targeted, and so is safe from everything that says it 
  127. targets, and everything that is a local enchantment spell. Everything else 
  128. (Wrath of God, Earthquake etc) affects it just fine.
  129.  
  130. M.06 Q: Do "Enchant Foo" cards fall off when their enchantee stops being a Foo?
  131.       A: Yes. That means the local enchantment is enchanting an illegal 
  132. enchantee, which in turn means the enchantment goes to the graveyard as a 
  133. state-based effect.
  134.  
  135. M.07 Q: Will an enchantment fall off if the enchantee gains protection from 
  136. its color?
  137.       A: Yes. That means the local enchantment is enchanting an illegal 
  138. enchantee, which in turn means the enchantment goes to the graveyard as a 
  139. state-based effect.
  140.  
  141. M.08 Q: Will +1/+1 counters fall off if they're not on a creature?
  142.       A: No. They won't have any effect on it, but they will stay on.
  143.  
  144. M.09 Q: Do enchantments & counters fall off when something regenerates?
  145.       A: No. Regeneration replaces destruction, so the destruction never 
  146. happens.
  147.  
  148. M.10 Q: What is a global enchantment?
  149.       A: Any "Enchant World" or "Enchantment" card.
  150.  
  151. M.11 Q: What is a local enchantment?
  152.       A: Any "Enchant Foo" card that isn't an "Enchant World" card.
  153.  
  154. M.12 Q: If I try to counter an Urza's Rage (or something else that is 
  155. uncounterable) with an Absorb/Undermine, will I still gain 3 life/will my 
  156. opponent still lose 3 life?
  157.       A: Yes. Urza's Rage can be targeted by Absorb and Undermine perfectly 
  158. well, and so they won't be countered upon resolution. They resolve alright 
  159. (although they do nothing to Urza's Rage), and the extra effect of 
  160. lifegain/lifeloss will occur.
  161.  
  162. ======
  163.  
  164. Section N: Specific cards
  165.  
  166. N.01 Q: Can I play Orim's Chant in response to a spell, stopping that spell?
  167.       A: No. By the time you can respond to a spell, that spell has already 
  168. been played, and Orim's Chant prevents a player from playing spells. It can 
  169. in no way, shape or form counter spells. If it could, it would say so on 
  170. the card.
  171.  
  172. N.02 Q: If I control a Sanctuary and a single permanent that is both of the 
  173. appropriate colors, do I get the "big effect"?
  174.       A: Yes. The game doesn't check for two different permanents, it just 
  175. asks "Do you control a <color> permanent?" for both colors, and if it gets 
  176. two positive replies back, you get the big effect.
  177.  
  178. N.03 Q: How do Flagbearers work again?
  179.       A: Basically, if your opponent controls a Flagbearer, you have to 
  180. target it if able. If you cannot target the Flagbearer (you're playing a 
  181. Shock and the Flagbearer has protection from red) the Flagbearer doesn't 
  182. affect you.
  183.  
  184. N.04 Q: If a creature becomes a Flagbearer and gets the Flagbearer ability 
  185. in response to a spell, is the spell countered due to illegal target?
  186.       A: No. The Flagbearer ability only affects spells and abilities 
  187. during announcement, not at any other time.
  188.  
  189. N.05 Q: If I turn a creature into a Flagbearer, does it automatically gain 
  190. the Flagbearer ability?
  191.       A: No. Only two creature types have special rules attached to them, 
  192. Legends and Walls. If there isn't a natural Flagbearer in play, giving a 
  193. creature the Flagbearer type does nothing special.
  194.  
  195. ======
  196.  
  197. Section O: Tournaments and rulebooks
  198.  
  199. O.01 Q: What is a sideboard?
  200.       A: Something you only use in a tournament. In a Constructed 
  201. tournament, it's 15 extra cards you bring with you, in a Limited 
  202. tournament, it's all the cards you have drafted or opened but isn't using 
  203. in your deck. After the first round of a match you can exchange cards in 
  204. your main deck for cards in your sideboard on a 1:1 basis.
  205.  
  206. O.02 Q: What is a mulligan?
  207.       A: If you draw your starting hand and aren't happy with it, you can 
  208. take a mulligan, which means shuffling your hand into your library and 
  209. drawing a new hand of one less card than the last one. You can mulligan 
  210. down to a zero card hand if you wish.
  211.  
  212. O.03 Q: Can I use newer cards in the same games as older ones, despite the 
  213. changes to the rules?
  214.       A: Certainly, yes. Many of the problems they had when writing the 6th 
  215. edition rules came from ensuring that old cards would still work.
  216.  
  217. O.04 Q: What cards can I play with in a tournament?
  218.      A: That depends on the tournament. In a sealed-deck or draft 
  219. tournament, you just get to play with the cards you're given on the day, of 
  220. course.
  221.  
  222. In a Type 1 tournament, your deck may consist of cards from all Magic card 
  223. sets, any extension of the basic set, and all promotional cards released by 
  224. Wizards of the Coast, Inc, but not cards listed on WotC's site as being 
  225. banned in Type 1. Also, you may only have one each of the cards on the 
  226. restricted list as given on WotC's site.
  227.  
  228. In a Type 1.5 tournament, your deck may consist of cards from all Magic 
  229. card sets, any extension of the basic set, and all promotional cards 
  230. released by Wizards of the Coast, Inc, but not cards listed on WotC's site 
  231. as being banned in Type 1.5.
  232.  
  233. In an Extended tournament, your deck may consist of cards from Sixth 
  234. Edition, Seventh Edition and any expansion sets from Tempest onward. 
  235. Expansion sets older than Tempest are not legal in Extended. There is a 
  236. short banned list on WotC's site for Extended, and those cards are not 
  237. legal for use in Extended.
  238.  
  239. In a Type 2 tournament, your deck may consist of cards from the following 
  240. sets: Eighth Edition, Onslaught, Legions, Scourge, Mirrodin and Darksteel, 
  241. but not cards listed as being banned on WotC's site. Currently, no cards 
  242. are banned in Type 2.
  243.  
  244. O.05 Q: In a tournament where (for example) Ice Age isn't legal, am I 
  245. allowed to play with an Ice Age card that was reprinted in a legal set?
  246.       A: Yes. Note that it will be treated as if it were a copy of the card 
  247. from the legal set. For example, if you play with a copy of Squall from 
  248. Starter, which has casting cost 1G, then it will be treated as if it were 
  249. the Squall from Mercadian Masques, which has casting cost 2G.
  250.  
  251. ======
  252.  
  253.  
  254.