home *** CD-ROM | disk | FTP | other *** search
/ The Arcade BBS / arcadebbs.zip / arcadebbs / TEXT / JYHAD.FAQ < prev    next >
Encoding:
Text File  |  1995-02-18  |  12.7 KB  |  259 lines

  1. FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions about Jyhad
  2.  
  3. Compiled by: Chris Ferris, Paul Peterson, Bob Kruger, Matt Burke, Jeff
  4. Harris, Shawn F. Carnes, Rich Redman, Scott Hungerford
  5.  
  6. This list of questions is intended to Clarify the Jyhad rules. These
  7. questions and answers are not meant to supercede or substitute for the
  8. rules. If any answer below actually modifies or corrects the published
  9. rules it will be made clear.
  10.  
  11. This is the Blood Doll Edition, accurate as of August 31, 1994
  12.  
  13.  
  14. Q: Can I use the +1 stealth on an action card to increase the stealth of
  15. another action?
  16. A: No, because you'd need an action modifier card. The action card merely
  17. indicates that that particular action has an intrinsic stealth bonus.
  18.  
  19. Q:What happens when I run out of cards?
  20. A:(Sec. 11.4, "Organizing the Cards," and Sec. 18.2, "Withdrawing from
  21. the Game") Play continues when you use the last of your library cards.
  22. The only time you are out of the game is when you are reduced to zero
  23. pool or when you successfully withdraw from the game.
  24.  
  25. Q: What happens when my vampire has no blood counters on it?
  26. A: Your vampire only goes into torpor when it is reduced below zero
  27. blood. If it is reduced to zero, then the next turn it must hunt as an
  28. action; a vampire can take no other action unless it has at least one
  29. blood.
  30.  
  31. Q:What happens when a vote ties?
  32. A: (Sec. 17.1, "Voting") A tied vote is a failed vote.
  33.  
  34. Q: When can a voted be called, and can I make up the referendum?
  35. A: (Sec. 17.1, "Voting") Calling a vote is an action that must be taken
  36. by one of your minions. The referendum for the vote is described on the
  37. vote card; you cannot arbitrarily make one up. Some vote cards require a
  38. Prince or a Justicar to use them. The only other vote in Jyhad besides
  39. ones written out on cards is for a bloodhunt (Sec. 16.3, "Diablerie").
  40.  
  41. Q: Does the vote on the vote card count towards my referendum?
  42. A:Yes, when you call a vote, the card itself is worth one vote.
  43.  
  44. Q: (Sec 17.1, "Voting") The rule book implies that you cannot play
  45. additional political vote cards if you used a vote card to call a vote. 
  46. "Additional political cards can also be used by any of the other
  47. Methusulahs for votes".  Can you play additional political vote cards?
  48. A: Yes, all Methusulahs can use political vote cards.
  49.  
  50. Q: If I throw in another card from my hand for one vote, do I replace it
  51. right away?
  52. A: (Sec. 17.1, "Voting") No. No cards get replaced until the vote is
  53. concluded.
  54.  
  55. Q: My vote card says Prince or Justicar. Now what?
  56. A: The only minion that can call that particular vote would be a vampire
  57. with the appropriate title. Any ready vampire can call a vote that states
  58. "All Kindred."
  59.  
  60. Q: Can my ally call a vote?
  61. A: Any card that states "Kindred" excludes allies. An ally is a minion
  62. but is not Kindred. Allies are mortal.
  63.  
  64. Q: Ok, I've got a Justicar but he's tapped. Do I still get his votes?
  65. A: (Sec. 11.1, "The Playing Area") He sure does, because tapped minions
  66. are considered "ready."
  67.  
  68. Q: What about my Primogen in torpor? Can't she vote?
  69. A: (Sec. 11.1, "The Playing Area" and Sec. 17.1, "Voting") Vampires in
  70. torpor are not considered "ready" and cannot lend their votes.
  71.  
  72. Q: How do I get out of torpor?
  73. A: If your vampire went into torpor with counters still on it (by
  74. paralyzation or by aggravated damage), then it can as an action rescue
  75. itself at the cost of two blood. If it doesn't have enough, then it can
  76. be rescued by another minion. The rescuing minion taps to visit the
  77. vampire in torpor and must spend two of its blood, or both the rescuing
  78. vampire and the rescued vampire spend one blood each. The vampire so
  79. rescued is then active again, but if it has no blood, it must hunt the
  80. next turn.
  81.  
  82. Q: My vampire went into torpor tapped but he had enough blood to get
  83. himself out. How can he get himself out if he's tapped?
  84. A: Even vampires in torpor untap during the untap phase.
  85.  
  86. Q: If someone has a vampire in torpor with Haven Uncovered played on it,
  87. can I diablerize it or attack it with +1 stealth?
  88. A: Once a vampire is in torpor it is no longer "ready," so it cannot be
  89. the object of the Haven Uncovered. Once the vampire escapes torpor,
  90. however, it is prey to the effects of the card again.
  91.  
  92. Q: What happens to my equipment, etc., when my vampire becomes an invalid
  93. target (i.e., it goes into torpor)?
  94. A:The equipment and all modifiers stay on a vampire when it goes into
  95. torpor.
  96.  
  97. Q: What is the combat sequence?
  98. A: (Sec. 15, "Combat") The combat sequence starts with the determination
  99. of range. There are two ranges, close and long. Range starts off close
  100. and can only be changed by maneuvering. Any number of maneuvers may occur
  101. until range has been determined; however, each maneuver after the first
  102. must be played only to cancel another maneuver. I cannot just throw out
  103. five maneuvers to allow myself to draw five new cards, for instance. I
  104. can play a maneuver to make combat long range, my opponent can then play
  105. a maneuver to cancel mine and make the combat short, and I can then play
  106. one to cancel hers and make it long again - we play maneuvers back and
  107. forth until one of us stops.
  108.     The second phase is to choose strike. A strike can be by hand, by
  109. weapon, or by a combat card specifically stating "strike." After each
  110. minion has declared its strike, damage is determined and combat ends
  111. unless one or the other minion "presses," which begins the whole round
  112. again.
  113.  
  114. Q: I played "strike: combat ends" and my opponent played "strike: dodge."
  115. It says that dodge negates opponent's strike. What happens?
  116. A: (Sec. 15.3, "Special Combat Effects") Well, "combat ends" takes place
  117. before any other strike can take effect. Combat ends beats any other card
  118. out there.
  119.  
  120. Q: What does "press to end" mean?
  121. A:Press to end allows you to counteract your opponent's press to continue
  122. combat, but does not allow you to press to continue combat. Presses can
  123. continue to be played until the final press played determines the
  124. outcome.
  125.  
  126. Q: If I have a superior Discipline, can I use both the bold type and the
  127. normal type on my card?
  128. A: No. The superior Discipline gives you a choice between the two
  129. options.
  130.  
  131. Q: How do additional strikes work?
  132. A: An additional strike allows the minion to strike two or more times in
  133. a single round. If the other minion does not have additional strikes, it
  134. cannot do damage back during strikes after the first. Range is not
  135. changed in the additional strikes.
  136.  
  137. Q:What exactly does "once per combat" mean?
  138. A: Once per combat means once during the entire confrontation, including
  139. any additional rounds due to presses that may prolong the combat. If you
  140. get one maneuver per combat, and you maneuver in the first round, you've
  141. used your manuevers from that card and must find another card source if
  142. you want to maneuver again.
  143.  
  144. Q: When can I play a reaction card?
  145. A: A reaction card can only be played in response to the actions of
  146. another Methuselah's minion.
  147.  
  148. Q: Who do you bleed? And if I have a card with the D in the circle, who
  149. then? And wasn't bleeding a direct action anyway?
  150. A: Usually the only one you bleed is your prey. That action is
  151. direct - that is, it can only be blocked by your prey. If, however, a card
  152. allows you to bleed as a direct action, then you can bleed any Methuselah
  153. you like. It's still a direct action, so only the target of the bleed can
  154. attempt to block
  155.  
  156. Q: At the top of my action card it says +1 stealth in bold typeface. Do I
  157. have to have a superior Discipline to use this card?
  158. A: The +1 stealth covers both aspects of the card, so whichever level
  159. discipline you have, and whichever one you choose, the action is still at
  160. +1 stealth.
  161.  
  162. Q: I have a unique location master card, and someone else just played
  163. one. How does this work?
  164. A: (Sec. 8, "Contested Cards") Just like contested vampires - they go face
  165. down and each owner loses one blood each untap until he yields his card,
  166. or until his card is the only one remaining, at which point it is put
  167. into play on his side. If someone wants to burn a contested unique
  168. location as a direct action, he or she is automatically successful, as it
  169. is not controlled; all cards contesting that location are burned.
  170.  
  171.  
  172. Q: How does the sequence of play run?
  173. A: (Sec. 12, "What You Can Do On Your Turn") There are five phases to each
  174. Methuselah's turn. At the beginning of each turn you must untap any
  175. cards that are tapped, including any vampires in torpor. You can then
  176. play one master card, and any effects generated by master cards also
  177. occur. The minion phase is next, and any untapped minions may take an
  178. appropriate action. After the minion phase is over, the four transfers
  179. allotted for the influence phase may be spent. Once all or any influence
  180. is used, the last action a Methuselah may take is to discard one card
  181. from her hand and replace it with one from her library.
  182.  
  183. Q: Are allies linked to one vampire? How are they different from
  184. retainers?
  185. A: Allies are not linked to vampires as retainers are; allies are simply
  186. called to the service of a Methuselah by a vampire capable of taking an
  187. action. Both allies and retainers are mortal, but retainers are not
  188. considered minions. In fact, retainers are the equivalent of vampire
  189. modifier cards that can be destroyed by ranged damage only. Allies,
  190. however, can take actions of their own accord.
  191.  
  192. Q: In the section "Winning the Game," (Sec. 18.1) it says that the
  193. predator gets the victory point and the blood. What if I bleed someone as
  194. a direct action who is not my prey and oust him or her? Shouldn't I get
  195. the points and blood? This must be a error.
  196. A: Actually, it's not a error. The predator will still get the point and
  197. the blood; this encourages everyone to concentrate on his or her prey.
  198.  
  199. Q: How do I replenish my pool? Can't I take blood off my ready vampires?
  200. A: Currently the only time you can remove blood from a ready vampire and
  201. place it in your pool is when it has a Blood Doll or a Minion Tap card
  202. played on it. Otherwise the Methuselah cannot feed off of his or her
  203. minions. There are cards that allow pool increases, and ousting your prey
  204. pays off as well.
  205.  
  206. Q: I want to play a reaction card. Can any minion play a reaction card?
  207. What if she's tapped?
  208. A: A tapped minion cannot react (bring a reaction card into play). The
  209. untapped minion that plays a reaction, however, does not get tapped.
  210.  
  211. Q: I have a "strike: steal weapon" card. Can I take my prey's Hawg? It's
  212. got that little gun on it, doesn't it?
  213. A: Well, sure it's got the picture, but for the card to qualify as a
  214. weapon it must also state "weapon" in the card text. The symbol stands
  215. for "equipment" only.
  216.  
  217. Q: I have a vampire with Blood Doll played on her but the vampire is
  218. contested. Can I still get blood from her?
  219. A: No. The vampire is considered out of the influence of either
  220. Methuselah.
  221.  
  222. Q: When does my vampire heal itself with stolen blood? The example in the
  223. book I got in my card pack is confusing.
  224. A: The example in the rules prior to the "Duelist Companion" rules'
  225. release refers to an early conception of the rules. The example is in
  226. error. Stolen blood can immediately heal a vampire. This may prevent a
  227. vampire's going into torpor on the strike phase during which it stole the
  228. blood, as long as the vampire striking it does not do enough "first
  229. strike" damage to send it into torpor. In that case, the vampire
  230. attempting to steal blood is considered to have not even gotten the
  231. opportunity to steal blood before being sent to torpor.
  232.  
  233. Q: My Gun says "3R" on it. What's the "R" mean?
  234. A: It means that it delivers 3 points of damage either at long range or
  235. short range. Some cards with the "R" on it (Thrown Sewer Lid, for
  236. example) can only be effective from long range, but "R" does not mean
  237. that it must be at long range to work.
  238.  
  239. Q: Can I play multiple Hunting Ground cards?  It says on the Hunting
  240. Ground cards that "only one blood can be given to a vampire from Hunting
  241. Ground cards each turn"?
  242. A: Yes. What it should say is that each vampire can "receive" no more
  243. than one blood from Hunting Ground cards each turn. If you have two
  244. vampires out that are below capacity and you have two Hunting Ground
  245. cards out, you can give each vampire a blood point during untap: one
  246. point to one vampire for one Hunting Ground.
  247.  
  248. Q: How does Aggravated Damage work?
  249. A: Aggravated Damage automaticly sends your vampire to torpor. The first
  250. point of Aggravated Damage doesn't cause the vampire to spend a point of
  251. blood to heal, but every point after does. If Aggravated Damage equals
  252. more than your vampire has blood to heal your vampire is destroyed, this
  253. does not count as Diablerie.
  254.  
  255. Q: If I have more than one Army of Rats in play, how much pool will my
  256. prey lose during their untap phase... one for each card?
  257. A: No matter how many Army of Rats one has in play, their prey will lose
  258. one pool on each untap phase.
  259.