

Judges for U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards Announced

10/12/2012

Diverse panel includes leaders in dairy, agriculture and environment, organization says.

ROSEMONT, III. - The Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy announced the blue-ribbon judging panel for the second annunal U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards. The awards program recognizes dairy farms, businesses and collaborative partnerships for their contributions to healthy people, healthy products and a healthy planet, the organization said.

"More than ever before, it is important for the public to understand the dairy industry's commitment to sustainability, and why consumers can be confident about choosing their favorite dairy foods and beverages," said Barbara O'Brien, president of the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy. "We are thrilled with the level of support we have received from within and outside the industry."

Nominations are open to all dairy farms and businesses through Nov. 15.

The panel of judges — which includes experts from academic institutions, government, dairy science organizations, nongovernmental organizations and media as well as environmental and dairy industry leaders — brings together a diverse group with insights on the economic and environmental realities facing the dairy industry today.

The judges are:

- · Robert Bonnie, senior advisor for Environment and Climate, USDA
- Jim Carper, chief editor, Dairy Foods
- Jason Clay, senior vice president of market transformation, World Wildlife Fund
- · Larry Elworth, agriculture counselor to the administrator, U.S. EPA
- Molly Jahn, professor, Laboratory of Genetics and Department of Agronomy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Larry Jensen, chair, Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy and president, Leprino Foods
- Steve Larson, managing editor, Hoard's Dairyman
- James Linn, professor, Department of Animal Science, University of Minnesota and past president, American Dairy Science Association
- Joel Makower, chairman and executive editor, GreenBiz Group
- Randy Mooney, dairy producer and chairman, National Milk Producers Foundation
- Gatz Riddell, executive vice president, American Association of Bovine Practitioners
- Paul Rovey, chairman, Dairy Management, and owner, Rovey Dairy
- Brian Sloboda, senior program manager, Cooperative Research Network, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
- Connie Tipton, president and CEO, International Dairy Foods Association
- Dave White, chief, Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA
- Mike Brubaker, dairy producer, Brubaker Farms
- Steve Rowe, senior vice president and general counsel, Darigold

For more information or to nominate, visit USDairy.com/Sustainability/Awards.

Click here for online version.